My Parents’ Visit to Korea: In Which I Almost Become a Human Kite

Sorry we’ve been silent for so long! My parents came to visit for almost two weeks and we’ve been so busy hosting them and showing them around Korea that we didn’t have much time left for writing.

We had a long weekend off of school at the beginning of May because of three separate holidays that just happened to be back-to-back. May 1st was Labor Day and although school was still open, certain types of government workers were given the day off, including the foreign English teachers. May 5th was a holiday called Children’s Day (basically what it sounds like – a day celebrating the value of children) and May 6th was Buddha’s birthday, both of which are national holidays where schools and businesses are closed. It worked out so perfectly that we had all of this time off while my parents were in town visiting. Many schools made May 2nd a temporary holiday so their teachers could have a 6 day holiday, but neither Jonathan’s nor mine did. There is a similar holiday situation in June where we have holidays on a Wednesday and a Friday and many schools are making the Thursday in between a temporary holiday. Again, neither Jonathan’s nor my school are. Frown face.

We spent my parents’ first few days in Korea seeing Seoul and eating tasty food that we don’t normally have access to in Daegu. My parents were still getting over their jetlag so we didn’t do a comprehensive tour of Seoul, but we did try to hit the highlights. We went to Changdeokgung Palace and Seoul Tower, ate fantastic Western food in Itaewon, window-shopped in Insadong and stayed in Myeongdong, where I took full advantage of the 3-story Forever21 to stock up on clothes that actually come in my size.

IMG_4670

IMG_4713

IMG_4718

Because of the holidays, everywhere we went was exceptionally crowded. My parents flew into Incheon Airport near Seoul and I took a train up there to pick them up. Normally we don’t worry about reserving train tickets in advance because the high-speed KTX train runs every 15 minutes or so all day long and even if you can’t get on a train immediately, you can be pretty sure there will be tickets available within a few hours. In fact, the longest we’ve ever had to wait for a train was about an hour, even on holidays. Because of this we were completely unprepared for what happened when I tried to get my parents back to Daegu and found that all of the tickets were sold out for the entire day. We ended up having to buy tickets for 5:50 the following morning and find a hotel to stay in that night.

Eventually we made it back to Daegu, where we showed my parents around downtown and in our area. On Children’s Day we took them to Palgongsan, the highest mountain in Daegu, and did a short hike up one of the gentler sides.

IMG_4734

IMG_4739

IMG_4754

IMG_4776

For Buddha’s birthday we traveled to Gyeongju, which is about an hour from Daegu by train. Gyeongju is the ancient seat of the Silla dynasty and has a lot of special meaning for Koreans. Much of the significance was lost on us since we don’t have the sense of Korean history that we do of our own country, but we still enjoyed a truly gorgeous day exploring Gyeongju National Park and the Royal Tomb Complex, the very old, but not very tall Cheomseongdae observatory and the Anapji royal pond garden.

X IMG_4794

Royal Tomb Park. The hills behind us are burial mounds.

X IMG_4795

This tomb had been excavated so you could enter it.

X IMG_4829

World’s shortest observatory.

X IMG_4855

Anapji Royal Pond

On Wednesday, Jonathan and I had to go back to school, so my parents hung out in Daegu for the next few days while we worked. On Friday my parents actually came to school with me and observed/participated in my classes. I was able to do a special lesson introducing them and then talking about Mother’s Day and Father’s Day in the US. It was perfectly timed because in Korea people celebrate Parent’s Day on May 8th (the day before my parents came to school) and Mother’s Day in the US was May 11th, so it made for a perfect topic.

The following weekend, we all trekked out to Busan to check out the Yeongdo Lighthouse which Jonathan had read about. It was a bit of a hike to get out to the peninsula, but well worth it. The scenery was stunning (I’ve always had a thing for rocky coastlines), the water was this gorgeous color I didn’t know existed in Korea, and the weather was perfect. When we got out to the point the lighthouse was on it suddenly became insanely windy. Like, I was actually afraid I was going to be picked up and carried off the cliff. It was equal parts terrifying and exhilarating.

X IMG_4916

X IMG_4877

X IMG_4933

X IMG_4939

The wind was insane, but the coastline was stunning.

X IMG_4945

X IMG_4950

X IMG_4949

I legitimately thought I was going to picked up by the wind and carried off this cliff.

X IMG_4976

King of the Rock

Other than that, we spend the rest of our time enjoying each other’s company and introducing my parents to the BBC’s Sherlock which they’d been missing out on. They left on Monday which was bittersweet. It was wonderful to see them and to get to share our world with them, but it also reminded me of how very far away we are. Saying goodbye this time wasn’t nearly as hard as when we left in August though. We are planning to visit home for a few days this coming August, which is really only a few months away. We’re trying to squeeze in a brief but good visit to both my family and Jonathan’s in our two weeks of summer vacation because, BIG NEWS, we have officially decided to renew our contracts and stay in Korea for one more year!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “My Parents’ Visit to Korea: In Which I Almost Become a Human Kite

  1. Valerie Hiatt says:

    I love that your parents came and visited! Congrats on renewing your contract for another year! My fiance and I just got our acceptance letters into the Jeollanamdo Language Program! We will be in Korea in August! 🙂

    • lilyellyn says:

      Hi Valerie,

      Congratulations on your acceptance to Jeollanam-do! Another girl who reads my blog and her husband are planning to do that program in August as well. Maybe you guys have run into each other elsewhere on the internet? Her name is Natasha Etzel. I hope you have a great experience in Korea. If you have any questions I can help with, let me know. I don’t know that much about that specific program, but I’m happy to share any general Korea living/teaching info I have. 🙂

    • Valerie Hiatt says:

      Hi Natasha!
      That’s awesome you and your husband have interviewed! You should definitely be hearing back soon! I will email you and we can connect that way! Thanks! 🙂

      • lilyellyn says:

        Hey Valerie,

        We decided to stay for several reasons-one of the biggest being that we don’t really have anything figured out for when we come home – jobs, where we will live, etc and we are pretty happy here. Staying another year will give us more time to make plans for going home and allow us to build up our savings. Last year we took a huge trip over our winter vacation, which was totally worth it, but did mean that our savings this year are not as big as they could have been. Our goal is to go back home with enough saved to really get ourselves re-established – we’ll have to buy cars and that kind of thing – and have a nice start on a down-payment for a house – something we would be years and years away from if we came back home now. We also feel like once we return to the US we’ll be ready to settle down more, so we wanted to take full advantage of this opportunity since we have already done all the hard work of moving abroad.

        On Thu, May 22, 2014 at 2:08 PM, Two Sore Thumbs wrote:

        >

  2. Valerie Hiatt says:

    Lily,

    Thanks so much! We’re really excited! Reading your posts has been really encouraging to us as it’s nice to see a husband and wife living there together and doing so well! What made you two decide to stay another year? 🙂 It will be great to continue living there as a experienced teachers!
    And thank you for referring me to Natasha! It will be nice to have another contact while in Korea! Especially another couple! 🙂

  3. […] was jammed with lots of traveling around and showing them Korea. (You can read about their visit here.) I wrote a post introducing people to the real me, even the parts I’m not proud of, and you […]

  4. […] of traveling around Korea to see the green tea fields and attend a cherry blossom festival. In May my parents came to visit us in Korea and we were able to do a little bit of in-country travel with them. Since the entire […]

Leave a comment